fbpx
Accueil News Valerie Thomas, Scientist And Inventor at NASA

Valerie Thomas, Scientist And Inventor at NASA

par Jamy Louis-Jeune
Valerie thomas

This post is also available in: Français

Valerie Thomas, born February 8, 1943 in Maryland, is a scientist and NASA project director. In 1980, she invented the illusion transmitter, which allows satellites to transmit 3D images from space.

Training and Career

From childhood, she showed her interest in technology by tinkering with her father electronic devices.

Ms. Thomas’ high school teachers encouraged her abilities and gave her additional projects. She graduated from high school around 1961, at a time in our civil rights history when integration was just beginning in the southern United States. After graduating from high school, she entered Morgan State University in Baltimore, Maryland.

In 1964, Valerie Thomas was hired by NASA.

valerie thomas 1

Throughout her career at NASA, Valérie Thomas thrived on projects that presented her with a challenge. It developed real-time computer data systems to support satellite operations control centers (1964-1970). From 1970 to 1981, she led the development of Landsat image processing systems (for three Landsat satellites), thus becoming known internationally as an expert contact for Landsat data products.

In 1974, Valerie led a team of about 50 people for the Large Area Crop Inventory Experiment (LACIE), a joint effort with NASA’s Johnson Space Center, the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), and the United States. . Department of Agriculture. LACIE has demonstrated the feasibility of using space technology to automate the process of forecasting wheat yield on a global scale. The role of the GSFC in LACIE was accomplished with a minimum of time and money and a maximum of technical challenges. LACIE has been a resounding success.

After working at LACIE, Valerie spent a year from 1975 to 1976 at NASA Headquarters as Deputy Program Manager for Landsat / Nimbus before returning to GSFC. She was then responsible for operations for the early access system (nicknamed Scrounge) for Landsat-D’s new Thematic Mapper sensor. Valerie was also the technical lead for a multi-year, $ 42 million technical support contract and deputy project manager for the land data pilot system during the initial requirements definition phase.

Due to her unique career and commitment to giving back to the community, Valerie Thomas has spent a lot of time over the years speaking to groups of students from elementary to college and university and groups adults. As an exceptional role model for potential young black engineers and scientists, she has made literally hundreds of visits to schools and national meetings over the years.

She has served as a mentor for countless students working at the GSFC over the summer in addition to serving as a science fair judge, working with organizations such as the National Technical Association (NTA) and Women in Science and Engineering (WISE). These latter programs encourage minority students to pursue careers in science and technology. Valerie has received numerous NASA awards, including the GSFC Award of Merit, the highest honor awarded by the GSFC, and the NASA Equal Opportunity Medal.

Inventions

In 1980 (October 21, 1980) she filed a patent for the illusion transmitter under the reference US Patent n ° 4 229 76117 which is still used by NASA, and could have applications in surgery, television or video games. .

Awards and Recognition

She is a recipient of the NASA Equal Employment Opportunity Medal and a recipient of the GSFC Award of Merit, the highest honor awarded by the Goddard Space Flight Center.

2019: She becomes a member of the National Society of Black Physicists

Sources

Laisser un commentaire

Ce site internet utilise des cookies pour améliorer votre expérience. Nous voulons nous assurer que vous validez ce fait, Sinon, vous pouvez vous désabonner à tout moment. Accepter En Savoir Plus

fbpx
Accueil ActualitésCarrière Valerie Thomas, Inventeur et Scientifique De La NASA

Valerie Thomas, Inventeur et Scientifique De La NASA

par Jamy Louis-Jeune
Valerie Thomas

This post is also available in: English

Valerie Thomas, née le 8 février 1943 dans le Maryland, est une scientifique et directrice de projet de la NASA. Elle invente, en 1980, le transmetteur d’illusion, qui permet aux satellites de transmettre des images 3D depuis l’espace.

Formation et Carrière

Dès son enfance, elle manifeste son intérêt pour la technologie en bricolant avec son père des appareils électroniques.

Les professeurs du secondaire de Mme Thomas ont encouragé ses capacités et lui ont donné des projets supplémentaires. Elle a obtenu son diplôme d’études secondaires vers 1961, à une époque de notre histoire des droits civiques où l’intégration ne faisait que commencer dans le sud des États-Unis. Après ses études secondaires, elle entre à l’université d’État Morgan de Baltimore dans le Maryland.

En 1964, Valerie Thomas est engagée par la NASA.

valerie thomas 1

Tout au long de sa carrière à la NASA, Valérie Thomas a prospéré grâce à des projets qui lui ont offert un défi. Elle a développé des systèmes de données informatiques en temps réel pour soutenir les centres de contrôle des opérations satellitaires (1964-1970). De 1970 à 1981, elle a dirigé le développement de systèmes de traitement d’images Landsat (pour trois satellites Landsat), devenant ainsi connue internationalement comme un contact expert pour les produits de données Landsat.

En 1974, Valerie a dirigé une équipe d’environ 50 personnes pour le Large Area Crop Inventory Experiment (LACIE), un effort conjoint avec le Johnson Space Center de la NASA, la National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) et les États-Unis. Département de l’agriculture. LACIE a démontré la faisabilité d’utiliser la technologie spatiale pour automatiser le processus de prévision du rendement du blé à l’échelle mondiale. Le rôle du GSFC dans LACIE a été accompli avec un minimum de temps et d’argent et un maximum de défis techniques. LACIE a été un succès retentissant.

Après avoir travaillé sur LACIE, Valerie a passé un an de 1975 à 1976 au siège de la NASA en tant que gestionnaire de programme adjoint pour Landsat / Nimbus avant de retourner au GSFC. Elle a ensuite été responsable des opérations pour le système d’accès anticipé (surnommé Scrounge) pour le nouveau capteur Thematic Mapper de Landsat-D. Valerie a également été responsable technique pour un contrat de soutien technique pluriannuel de 42 millions de dollars et chef de projet adjoint pour le système pilote de données terrestres pendant la phase initiale de définition des besoins.

En raison de sa carrière unique et de son engagement à redonner quelque chose à la communauté, Valerie Thomas a passé beaucoup de temps au fil des ans à parler à des groupes d’élèves du primaire au collège et à l’université et à des groupes d’adultes. En tant que modèle exceptionnel pour les jeunes ingénieurs et scientifiques noirs potentiels, elle a littéralement effectué des centaines de visites dans des écoles et des réunions nationales au fil des ans.

Elle a servi de mentor pour un nombre incalculable d’étudiants travaillant au GSFC au cours de l’été en plus de servir en tant que juge d’expo-sciences, travaillant avec des organisations telles que l’Association technique nationale (NTA) et Women in Science and Engineering (WISE). Ces derniers programmes encouragent les étudiantes des minorités et les étudiantes à poursuivre une carrière scientifique et technologique. Valerie a reçu de nombreux prix de la NASA, dont le GSFC Award of Merit, la plus haute distinction décernée par le GSFC, et la NASA Equal Opportunity Medal

Inventions

En 1980 (le 21 octobre 1980) elle dépose un brevet de l’illusion transmitter sous la référence U.S Patent n°4 229 76117 qui est toujours utilisé par la NASA, et pourrait avoir des applications dans la chirurgie, la télévision ou les jeux vidéo.

Prix et distinctions

Elle est récipiendaire de la NASA Equal Employment Opportunity Medal et lauréate du GSFC Award of Merit, la plus haute distinction décernée par le Goddard Space Flight Center.

2019 : Elle devient membre de la National Society of Black Physicists

Sources

Articles Similaires

Laisser un commentaire

Ce site internet utilise des cookies pour améliorer votre expérience. Nous voulons nous assurer que vous validez ce fait, Sinon, vous pouvez vous désabonner à tout moment. Accepter En Savoir Plus